Media Adesanya: I am changing my game after the timeout - Will fight to show off un-looked for skills

Unheralded Truth

Brown Belt
Platinum Member
Reaction score

"I haven't mastered the game yet, I'm still learning every day. Even right now, we're working on my jab 'cause I'm changing it up now. There's so much footage of me for people to watch,
there are smart coaches who can game plan. My jab was vicious, still is, but I'm just bringing that back more. I'm tuning it up again, so it's constant evolution, constant learning. In my
grappling as well, and I want to show it off. I do want to show it off in the cage now. I did a little bit in my fight with Alex in New York, but I want to do it more."

So you still got these things you want to do?

"Fuck yeah. Fuck the belts and all that, now it's more about highlights. Again, I had a lackluster performance against Romero because he didn't want to engage. So people were like
"oh, fuck him!" After that fight people were talking shit like all "this and that and he's a boring fighter" and it's weird. I see it now, they just forget. They forget and I'm like "bro, I gave you
so much classics?"

Demetrious Johnson were talking about that you'd need to brush up on your ground game to beat DDP?

"Off for me? Yeah, I've got some. I have got a little something. I enjoy grappling, I love it. But it's just that no one has been able to keep me in that position. That's the thing. And that's why
people think "oh, he's about to get exposed in this one". It's like the only person who would know, Jan. But he didn't do anything. He just used his weight and didn't try to finish me. He just
wanted to win so he kept me there using his weight advantage. And at the time I wasn't really used to that, I'm great on the feet so I like to keep the fight standing. In the gym it's different
than in a fight, and I'm getting more comfortable on the ground in the gym now, which makes me even better in any fight."