Now this started on MySpace, then continued to Sensei Al Perry's own forum, then after a few evasive and down right rude replies I posted a thread on Bullshido also. Now I'm putting it here, and on a couple other boards to see if anyone heard of this guy.
So Sensei Al Perry's student started spouting off in a myspace group about his instructor being a black belt in BJJ, and when I asked him the simple question of who his teacher (Al) got his black belt from he got belligerent and started telling me how his Sensei was going to kick my ***, lol. Then he gave me a link to his school's forum, and told me to get in touch with his teacher through there, so I said fine, and put up a fairly respectful post asking about his lineage, expecting a respectful response, but what I got was hilarious. His teacher basically challenged me to a fight if I could get through his top student!!! like a bad kung-fu flick! It's gone on a bit since then, and a lot of others kind of jumped in, but I wanted to see what you guys thought.
Here is the thread on his forum:
http://mmafighters.21.forumer.com/viewtopic.php?p=34#34
Now at times on other forums I can be a bit abrasive, but that was not the case here. I thought I was very polite, respectful, and to the point. I have consulted several legit high ranking BJJ Instructors in the area, and nobody seems to have ever heard of this guy, and his name literally turns up nothing in any search.
Now I realize it is possible that this guy is legit, but at this point it seems HIGHLY unlikely. Has anyone here ever heard of him? He is apparently building a new school in Baltimore. If he is a BJJ black belt he must be a super secret ninja one because he is completely off the charts, and the closest thing to an answer that I managed to get was, "I got my BJJ Black Belt from The Gracie's in Brazil"...
If you read some of the other threads on his forum you'll see a lot of odd and confusing posts... especially in the "Question Corner".